When a customer number is changed, all transactions for the customer including invoices, sales history, and payment history are renumbered, and references to original numbers are erased.
When customer accounts are merged into a single account, Contacts and Attachments for the From account are added to the To account. Ship To's and Sales history are added to the To customer's Ship To 000001.
Warning: Changes made when customers are merged or renumbered cannot be undone.
- Navigate to File > Customer > Master.
- Type or search for the customer being merged or renumbered.
- Click Edit.
- Right-click the Customer Number, then select Change Number.
- On the Change Customer Number page that appears, choose whether to Process Immediately or Overnight.
Note: Based on the amount of historical data, Immediately can take several minutes to process.
- Type the new customer number into the To Number box, and then press the Tab key.
- If you have entered a new customer number, then you will see a confirmation message that the customer does not exist. To accept the creation, click Yes on the confirmation message, and then click OK to complete the process.
If the new number already exists, then the old customer is merged rather than renumbered.